1986 – Bracelli.

BracelliEnregisté en : 1986
en : Suède
Format d’origine : 33T et CD ?
Label : Kakaphone
Ref. : KPH102






  • Notes de la pochette :

« The music in this collection constitutes a series of tonal pictures with tempo variations from 5/8 to 7/2. Although some of the melodies and some of the tempi are immediately congenial, their full flavour comes out on repeated listenings. This is complex music, with a sophistication that belies its seeming simplicity. Repeated hearings bring out further interesting combinations of sound, other subtleties of rhythm.

Inspite of being contemporary, Hardin’s works are solidly grounded in old classical forms, the most common being the canon.

This album introduces, for the first time, a new concept of string quartet, the BRACELLI, consisting of 2 violas and 2 cellos, using the German word Bratsche for viola and Celli, with Contra Bass added. The traditional string quartet was formed for the playing of homophonic music. Since the viola and the cello are an octave apart in register, they afford the ideal combination for canonic writing.

Five of the pieces are dynamically supported by percussion. The ‘Moondog-style’ drums were built by Stefan Lakatos according to Hardin’s specifications. They are three-sided of triangular in shape, used in graduated sizes, called Trimbas. Ever since the late forties these kind of drums were partly responsible for the typical Moondog sound.

For the first time Louis Hardin recorded with Swedish musicians, the Flesk Quartet, a group which works in both fields, classical and jazz. They were joined by Anders Öberg on Contra Bass and two percussionists, Tina Kjebon, who also did barefoot dance to DANSE ORIENTALE and Stefan Lakatos, the leading exponent of the ‘Moondog method’ of drum playing. »

  • Liste des titres :

Face A :
01. Gygg
02. Danse Orientale
03. Frost flower
04. Dark eyes
05. Speak Of Heaven

Face B :
06. Friska
07. Log In C Minor
08. Fantasia
09. Canon in Asia minor 2/2.
10. As The Earth Turns
11. Magic Ring
12. Log In G Major

  • Musiciens :

The Flesk Quartet
Anders Öberg : Contrebasse
Tina Kjebon : Percussions
Stefan Lakatos : Trimbas
Chef d’Orchestre : Moondog

  • Informations complémentaires :

  • Rééditions :